T h e L o n g i n g
Stevenson Productions (SP901919) – August 2009

Jan , Bob & Dudley-Brian are once again joined by Merel Bregante (Loggins & Messina, The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band) on percussion and J.David Praet on guitar for an amazing collection of songs and riveting performances. Guests appearances include founding member of The Association and writer of “Cherish”, Terry Kirkman, as well as keyboard giant Steve Conn (John Hiatt, Bonnie Raitt, Sonny Landreth) and violinist Mark Menikos (Brothers 3, Texas Gypsies). The album features “Radio” recorded for WUWF RadioLive (http://wuwf.org/radiolive/radiolive.shtml) and featured on public radio stations throughout North America. Nearly 2 years in the making, the album focuses on the group’s songwriting, harmonies and versatility.

The Longing (D-B.Smith); In Twilight (D-B.Smith); Where the Rippling Waters Flow (D-B.Smith); Going to the Moon (D-B.Smith); Separate Rockets (D-B.Smith); Radio (Jan & D-B.Smith); No Use In Crying (D-B.Smith); Jewel Found (Jan Smith); Written on the Wing (Margaret & D-B.Smith); Lasting Effects (D-B.Smith); Laughing in the Face of the Moon (D-B.Smith); An Ancient Tune (D-B.Smith); Plenty of Time (Jan & D-B.Smith).

Lyric Sheet

Produced by Dudley-Brian Smith & J. David Praet
Recorded/mixed/mastered by J. David Praet
at Praet Recording, Alexandria, LA
Additional engineering by:
Danny Smith (The Hole Recording, Alexandria, LA); Merel Bregante & Eric Hanke (Cribworks, Austin, TX),
Tom Menikos (T-mix, Mansfield, TX), Steve Conn (Connderosa, Mt. Juliet, TN), David Neathery (recShop, Pasadena, CA).
All songs by Dudley-Brian Smith, except Jewel Found by Jan Smith and Radio and Plenty of Time by Jan & Dudley-Brian Smith.
Performed by Smithfield Fair - Jan, Bob & Dudley-Brian Smith, with Merel Bregante (percussion), Steve Conn (keyboards on Plenty of Time), Terry Kirkman (recorder on No Use), J. David Praet (lead guitars), and Mark Menikos (fiddle on The Longing).

Design & graphics by Mumblius,
Photography by T.J. Shuflin

Smithfield Fair Homepage